MELVILLE’S GHOST

MELVILLE’S GHOST

I was chosen to beard this particular little ferret because I’m known as a sensible Senator, unafraid to cross the aisle if it seems the best thing to do for the country. When you’ve lived in D.C. as long as I have, you not only know where the bones are buried, you know who buried them. This, of course, is information I rarely use because I don’t have to: my reputation preceeds.

For all my experience, however, I was nonplussed to be asked to meet at the Viet Nam War Memorial. There are wonderful hotels, private rooms, restaurants, apartments, offices where this interview could have taken place. Not to mention the ability to communicate in text or on-line, or even just by telephone. To be out-of-doors, recognizable (I, not he), seemed ill-advised, especially with carry laws crossing state boundaries now so easily.

At first I failed to find him. The day was warm, even for November. The election reverberated in the clear autumn air.

There was nothing to do but start down a walkway, ignoring the golden letters to my left, until I reached the turn around at the bottom and began to scale upwards, letters on my left still. It was on this return journey that I saw the purposely unshaven profile, glasses atop his nose, round cheeks sucked in for some reason, as if in deep thought. He did not turn to look at me or to greet me.

We stood side-by-side for a moment in silence. “Grover,” said I purposely.

He did not turn.

“Grover,” I spoke again. “We lost, you know.”

No response.

“You have to release all of us.”

“I would prefer not to,” he said in a monotone.

“Explain to me, please, why.”

He did turn to look at me briefly. I was shocked. His ordinarily round and pasty features that sat atop his presumably unexercised body had morphed into those of a hungry chicken wearing glasses. I half expected his head to bob.

“I would prefer not to.”

“Grover, this may be a matter of national health, of national wealth and progress. We cannot go on this way, and the voters seem disinclined to support those of us who did sign your pledge. You must release us for the good of the country.”

“I would prefer not to.”

“But what do you do with these agreements? How can you hold us to them without having anything to show for them? We lost, Grover, we lost. We need to clear the air in order even to have a chance of returning to power.”

He would not reply.

“Grover, who made you the guardian of a Congress’s financial morality? Who do you think you are? Just answer that.”

“I would prefer not to.”

“Who are you, Grover? Whence did you come? What do you want?”

No response.

“Grover!” I was frustrated. “This cannot go on! Either act or disappear.”

“I would prefer not to.”

“Well, then,” I said, trying one more time to sound reasonable, “someone, a committee, a block, perhaps even the whole party, will have to announce it is no longer held by this ridiculous pledge. You’ll be embarrassed. Shamed. Wherever you came from is where you will return. You’ll be merely a footnote in a complicated, unhappy story. Is that what you want?”

“I would prefer not to.”

“Preference be damned, Grover!” I shouted, ignoring the stares of children, parents, scouts, veterans around me. “Do it or disappear!”

“I would prefer not to.”

But that, alas, is what did in fact happen. Grover’s New England certainty, his tiny darting eyes, his half-shaved face, his flat and sometimes angry tone, evanesced. Never again did we hear of his whereabouts, his preferences.

Ah Grover! Ah humanity!

42 thoughts on “MELVILLE’S GHOST

  1. After looking at a number of the articles on your site, I truly
    appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back
    in the near future. Take a look at my website too and tell me what you think.

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit,
    but instead of that, this is great blog. An excellent read.
    I will definitely be back.

  3. You could certainly see your expertise in the paintings you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  4. What i do not realize is actually how you are not actually much more well-liked than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You realize therefore significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated unless its one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs great. Always maintain it up!

  5. Wanted to post you one tiny note to be able to thank you very much over once more for all the extraordinary advices you have debated in the article. This has been so amazingly generous of people like you giving unhampered just what most of us might have marketed for an ebook to make some moneyon their own, particularly observing that you could have tried it in the event you desired. Those suggestions in addition performed to turn into easy way to fully grasp that some people have a comparable desire the same as mine to understand more and more with regard to this issue. Im sure-enough you will find numerous more pleasant occasions ahead for those who examine your blog.

  6. I found your blog web site on google and test just a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. In search of forward to reading more from you afterward!

  7. What i don’t realize is actually how you’re not really much more well-liked than you may be right now. You are so intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, produced me personally consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless its one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. Always maintain it up!

  8. I am really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog audience have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  9. A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing slightly evaluation on this. And he in truth bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If attainable, as you develop into experience, would you mind updating your weblog with more details? It’s extremely helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this blog submit!

  10. Thank you so much for sharing this info, I just wish I had found it earlier! The way this article has been written is just awesome! Not only is is extremely informative, it is also very easy to understand. Well done! Thank you once again for taking the time to publish this, I have learnt a lot :). My mother always said “a day without learning anything is a day wasted”. I have certainly learnt a lot from this article, thanks. I have placed a link to this page from Twitter, I hope that’s OK?

  11. I’m very pleased to discover this site. I need to to thank you for your time just
    for this wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every part of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff in your website.

  12. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  13. I’m also writing to let you understand what a beneficial experience my cousin’s girl developed reading your site. She noticed so many details, which include what it’s like to possess an excellent coaching nature to get other folks with no trouble learn about specified specialized subject matter. You really did more than visitors’ desires. Thanks for showing these good, healthy, revealing and as well as unique thoughts on that topic to Sandra.

  14. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and amusing,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue
    that too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I came across this during my search for something concerning this.

  15. Hey There. I discovered your weblog the use
    of msn. This is a very smartly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  16. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you might be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back very soon.
    I want to encourage continue your great job,
    have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

