FAILING TO LEARN

 

2/8/13

 

FAILING TO LEARN

 

Our country faces a huge number of unsolved problems and controversies. To list just a few of the items that await action in Congress this session: gun control, drones, cabinet appointments, a fairer tax code, the national economic meltdown which has resulted in four years of uncertainty and stress, the increased expense of healthcare, insurance, and general living expenses when most seniors have declining incomes, the loss of promised pensions hastened by Wall Street’s shenanigans of 2007/08.

“Action” is not a frequently heard word in D.C. at this time. Gridlock is.

And at this particular moment, we await confirmation of former senator Chuck Hagel as Defense Secretary, and John Brennan as head of the CIA. We are still at war in Afghanistan. We are in the midst of dodging and darting away from a Congressional Act called the sequestor which automatically will reduce spending in government departments across the board and which, according to many, may throw the country back into recession with job losses, curtailment of services, and industrial disarray.

Happy weekend.

And to top everything off, we have what may be a gigantic blizzard bearing down on the East Coast.

It would appear to some of us that our learning curve has come to a halt during the past dozen years. Mistakes are made, rarely corrected, and almost never examined for what they may tell us about the future. Politicians know what they believe and what they think. What they don’t know is how to get anything beneficial done for the country at large.

O.K., we think that’s enough depression for any day.

And yet, we want today to talk about learning from others who have made the same mistakes we are currently making and apparently learning from them, even correcting some of them.

For decades in this country we have heard about the wizardry and effectiveness of the National Health Services in Great Britain. We’ve been told how efficient it is, how English citizens are guaranteed care and coverage, how sensible a one-payer health plan such as theirs is, far preferable to what we have here, which is a private system, sometimes run for profit, sometimes not.

To be honest, we have also heard tales of months’ long waits for treatment, not to mention even examinations.

This week we read in a respectable newspaper about a scandal at a hospital smack in the middle of England, where the drive for profit has decimated patient care and brought about the premature deaths of many patients who were ignored, misdiagnosed, mistreated. Also who were not fed properly, dosed properly, cleansed regularly, and often left to die unattended for what were the flimsiest of reasons.

The name of this institution is Stafford Hospital, and a new report proposes that between 2005 and 2009 hundreds of patients there died needlessly.

The scandal erupted when in 2007 the British National Health Commission became concerned about the unusually high mortality rates at this hospital.

To read, or even hear, about what went wrong brought us to shouts of frustration and rage, insofar as it is easy enough to imagine ourselves in an institution like this where the profit motive reigned.

According to the Stafford report, patients were left unbathed, lying in their own wastes; patients were so thirsty they drank water from flower vases; patients were denied medications, pain relief and food by callous and overworked staff members; patients contracted infections due to filthy conditions; and patients were sent home to die after being given the wrong diagnoses.

The leader of the government inquiry said that these patients “were failed by a system which ignored the warning signs and put corporate interests and cost control ahead of patient safety.”

“There was a lack of care,” he continued, “compassion, humanity and leadership. The most basic standards of care were not observed, and fundamental rights to dignity were not respected.”

Further, in its efforts to balance its books and save 16 million dollars, the hospital laid off too many people and focused relentlessly on external objectives rather than patient care.

It is true that many of the doctors and staff involved in this mistreatment have since been removed from their posts. But in a typical “failing upward” move, the head of the hospital during those years is now chief executive of the National Health Service in England.

To bring home to us all how severe the crisis was at Stafford Hospital, a 64 year old man, George Dalziel, died after a cancer operation there. Though the operation was successful, Mr. Dalziel went for days without pain medication after his epidural feed was dislodged and he was left in his own waste, losing nearly sixty pounds of weight before dying in the hospital. “His bones,” said his wife, “were sticking out of his back.”

What, you may ask, is the point of these horror stories?

To begin with, for-profit hospitals have long histories of rewarding their administrators and leading technicians with out-sized salaries. This leaves nurses, labs, therapists at the bottom of the pay ladder and people in that position either have the gumption to get up and go, or are unhappily and bitterly trapped in their jobs.

Mortality rates at for-profit hospitals are higher than in non-profit ones for the same reason. After care, following surgery, for example, is shorted by not having adequate and caring nurses, therapists, dieticians, even cleaning staffs insofar as what they should be earning is being pushed up the hierarchy to executive suites.

And, not to put too fine a point on it, for-profit hospitals often run thousands of dollars worth of unnecessary tests on their patients to maximize the doctor’s or the hospital’s billing.

We like to imagine that care in this country is better than that we’ve just outlined in Great Britain. But in many cases it isn’t. When profits become the driving force behind healing, healing suffers.

Just as in this country, our own money managers are rewarded inordinately for maximizing returns on trades and schemes, ignoring the needs and desires of their clients. And here, too, failing upwards is a common experience.

It isn’t enough any longer to claim superiority in any field when, in our 24/7 news cycle, we can learn what happened in other climes and countries and still manage to ignore their relevance to our life here.

The current financial rage for austerity, not only in government spending but on Wall Street, in hospitals, in industry and education,

invariably puts the accent on cutting bottom lines in favor of increasing profits for share-holders, or doctors, or university administrators.

What we’d like to know is when did America, the land of enterprise and honesty, become just another sinkhole for mismanagement, fraud, and wrong-doing?

And what are we learning from other lands, other peoples, about pulling ourselves back from the brink of financial, physical, and emotional ruin?

 

 

 

76 thoughts on “FAILING TO LEARN

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and truly savored you’re web page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly have awesome posts. With thanks for sharing with us your web site.

    1. For legal purposes, I presume dating them as they appear will do the trick. All other material that is NOT on your website or blog can be cheaply protected by sending YOURSELF the orginal copy, dated.
      Good luck.

      John Neufeld

  2. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This publish truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  3. you are really a good webmaster. The web page loading speed is impressive. It seems that you do any exceptional technique. Moreover, The details are masterwork. you have done an excellent job about this subject!

  4. I just want to say I’m beginner to blogs and certainly enjoyed you’re web-site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You surely have amazing article content. Many thanks for revealing your blog site.

  5. fantastic wryucq post, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this. You should proceed your writing. I am sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  6. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website offered us with helpful information to work on. You have done an impressive activity and our whole group can be thankful to you.

  7. Great article. I am an average visitor of your blog and also appreciate you finding the time to maintain the nice internet site. I’ll certainly be a regular visitor for a really very long time.

  8. I was wondering should you ever considered switching the layout on the blog? It is remarkably written; I love the things you got to express. However you may have could a little more when it comes to content therefore people may interact with it greater. You have got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. You may have could space against eachother much better?

  9. I just could not depart your website prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back often in order to check up on new posts

  10. Oh my goodness lotopyeer! an incredible article dude. Thanks However I am experiencing subject with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  11. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  12. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  13. Thanks so much pertaining to giving me personally an update on this subject matter on your site. Please realise that if a new post appears or if any modifications occur to the current submission, I would want to consider reading more and finding out how to make good use of those approaches you talk about. Thanks for your time and consideration of people by making this blog available.

  14. I am not sure where you are obtaining your tips, however really good topic. I have to spend time figuring out much more or understanding a lot more. Thank you for brilliant details I have been in search of this content in my mission.

  15. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  16. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired! Very useful info specially the final part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  17. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to search out someone with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this web site is something that’s wanted on the internet, someone with somewhat originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  18. Before anything else, I want to compliment your clearness about this matter. I am not an expert on this subject, but just after joining your write-up, my personal knowledge has created pleasantly. Please be sure to permit me to take hold of your rss feed to remain in touch with any kind of probable posts. Decent job and will definitely give it to visitors and my online visitors.

  19. Or even in your online site I didnrrrt find out plenty of great the things which you will describe the following. I’m certainly for good pleased for you personally. Should you ever visited my own town, can come for the ale :T

  20. I am not positively where you’re getting your information, nevertheless enormous issue. I requests to spend approximately time wisdom much additional or else thoughtful extra. Recognition for fantastic in sequence I was looking on behalf of this information for my mission.

  21. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic site!

  22. I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to blogs and actually savored you’re web site. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with good stories. Cheers for sharing your website page.

  23. Whats cheery. Same cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your locate and obtain the feeds additionally…I’m content to find many helpful info here within the send. Merit for sharing…

  24. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme. Thank you

  25. Pingback: seo in los angeles
  26. I would like to show appreciation to you just for bailing me out of such a situation. Just after browsing through the world wide web and obtaining views that were not productive, I believed my life was done. Living minus the answers to the difficulties you’ve resolved through this blog post is a serious case, and ones that would have in a wrong way affected my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your web page. Your own capability and kindness in playing with every part was crucial. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a step like this. It’s possible to at this moment look ahead to my future. Thanks a lot so much for this specialized and results-oriented help. I will not hesitate to propose your web blog to any individual who ought to have counselling on this situation.

  27. Pingback: Healing Foods
  28. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking
    through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  29. Pingback: 7EKjrOHS9x
  30. I am not positive where you are getting your info, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time studying much morre or understanding more.
    Thank you for wonderful info I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

  31. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me on Firefox.
    Exceptional Blog!

  32. This is really fascinating, You are an excessively skilled
    blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for more of your wonderful post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  33. Just աant to say yоur article іѕ as amazing. The clarity on yօur publish іѕ imply col and
    tҺаt i cɑn suppose yоu’re knowledgeable on tһis subject.
    Weⅼl wіth yourr permission ⅼᥱt me to graspp your feed to қeep up to dаte with impending post.
    Thank you а mіllion and рlease ҝeep ᥙр tthe gratifying woгk.

Leave a Reply

