MORE JOY IN THE MORNIN’, or WHY I WRITE III

I am a special education teacher and now that I am retired, I am able to do things I’ve always meant to do. One of them is writing this. I hope that this is delivered to John Neufeld.

I taught English to high school students with lower IQs who had learning disabilities. The challenge was always finding material at their level that would excite them. I found that in Edgar Allan. The students were so engrossed, displaying anger at all the appropriate times. In addition to that, I was able to get terrific writing from them, maybe not grammatically correct, but full of emotion. At the conclusion of the novel, the assignment was to write Reverend Fickett’s last sermon in which they had to address all of his family members, the congregation, and most of all, Edgar Allan and tell all why he did the things he did.

It was a wonderful experience for me and for them. Thank you for writing such a meaningful novel for young adults.

S. Hansen, written to Johnneufeld.com/contact.html, 2/20/13

2 thoughts on “MORE JOY IN THE MORNIN’, or WHY I WRITE III

Leave a Reply

