Well, ALMOST.

1/29/14

The blogosphere does not need another commentator on the President’s State of the Union speech. But we can’t help it. Here it is.

Initially we had decided not to watch and listen. The disappointments of the past few years had grown too many for us to overlook, and it seemed to us that increasingly the President was becoming not just a lame duck, but also irrelevant to how the country was governed.

Old habits die hard.

And for the first forty minutes of his address, Mr.Obama seemed to be cruising at the altitude he likes best: high, general, moral. He managed to skirt disaster over and over again, mentioning – actually sort of gracing topics with a line or two about nearly everything and making his points succinctly and positively. The speech seemed upbeat and for a while one of his best. He is, after all, a phenomenal speaker.

But by minute 41, it seemed to us he was shrinking. And as the evening wore on to its close, he got smaller and smaller until what we saw before us was a man struggling to stay as tall as he had been on entering the chamber and failing.

When the high-point of the evening is a standing ovation for a severely wounded soldier that seemed to last a good three minutes, everything else is just confetti.

In the end, Mr. Obama got through the miserable task at hand but just barely. There were no notable phrases we could quote, apart from “Climate change is a fact!” (with which we happen to agree) and which, we hope, slapped down the kids in the Tea Party faction of the Republican party.

Apart from that, and the mention of Michelle Obama’s activities (many of them unknown to us before), we came away with very little of note. Yes, he would veto an increase in sanctions on Iran, but that was old news. Yes, America needed jobs and young people needed educations in order to get them. Check. We were (in theory) now self-sufficient in fossil fuel recovery. Check. The Affordable Care Act is good for millions of people (with which we also agree). Check. Without Samuel Alito grimacing down below, the Voting Rights Act had taken a hit. Check.

But we could see how little any of this meant to the Republicans, and how often those who stood and cheered were outliers in Congress rather than movers and shakers. The single Republican saluted was John Boehner, who promptly teared up.

Friends were neither solicited nor made. Listeners were neither persuaded nor particularly enthusiastic.

In fact, although the speech was well-constructed and even better written, we were offered very little by the President that he hasn’t offered before – he was fond of saying, “As I offered last year..”.

The impact of the President’s appearance was limited to admiration for his skill and bravery, about which we have always known. The real value of the speech to people who are in need, jobless, ill, at war in foreign climes, homeless, hungry and daily close to despair, was as nourishing as cotton candy and just as easily forgotten.

39 thoughts on “Well, ALMOST.

  1. At the end of the speech, I was reminded of Winston Churchill’s alleged description of his successor as Prime Minister, Clement Atlee, to President Truman: “He’s a modest man with much to be modest about”.

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back later on. I want to encourage continue your great job, have a nice holiday weekend!

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, Ill try to get the hang of it!

  4. I think the admin of this web site is actually working hard in support of
    his web page, since here every stuff is quality based material.

  5. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you’ve obtained right here, really like what you’re saying and the best way in which you are saying it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

  6. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours today, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the net can be a lot more useful than ever before.

  7. Howdy! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to
    ask. Does running a well-established blog such as yours take
    a large amount of work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however
    I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a
    blog so I can share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or
    tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  8. Great info and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is really the best place to ask but do you folks have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

  9. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. Ill be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  10. Hi I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on
    Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say
    thank you for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  11. Great article! This is the type of information that should be shared across
    the internet. Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this submit upper!
    Come on over and seek advice from my web site .
    Thanks =)

  12. Hello there, just changed into alert to your blog via Google, and located that it is really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. Ill appreciate for those who proceed this in future. Numerous other folks might be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  13. Thanks for the good writeup. It in reality was once a entertainment account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we be in contact?

  14. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

  15. I will right away snatch your rss feed as I can’t to find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  16. After examine a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I actually like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website checklist and will be checking again soon. Pls try my website online as well and let me know what you think.

  17. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  18. My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  19. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thanks

  20. I think what you posted made a great deal of sense.
    But, what about this? suppose you added a little
    information? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but suppose
    you added something that makes people want more? I mean Well, ALMOST.
    | Tapdancing in the Hall is a little plain. You might look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they write post titles to get viewers to click.

    You might add a video or a related picture
    or two to grab people excited about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it would make your posts a little bit more interesting.

  21. Thank you, I have just been looking for info approximately this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have came upon till now. However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you positive concerning the source?

  22. obviously like your web-site but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a
    few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling
    problems and I to find it very troublesome to tell the reality however I’ll definitely come
    back again.

  23. Pingback: Diablo 3 Gold
  24. Just want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert
    on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to
    date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the
    rewarding work.

  25. I believe everything said was very reasonable. However, what about this?
    suppose you wrote a catchier post title? I am not suggesting your content isn’t solid.,
    but what if you added something that makes people
    want more? I mean Well, ALMOST. | Tapdancing in the Hall is kinda plain.
    You should look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news titles to grab viewers interested.
    You might add a video or a related picture or two to get readers
    interested about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

  26. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog website?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

